A Time to Work and a Time to Pause: Lessons Learned from Finals Week

If you are a college student, finals season is here and chances are the work has piled up in the recent weeks.  You have exams to study for.  Papers to write.  Presentations to deliver.  Projects to create. 

We all cope with the stress caused by sudden business in our own ways.  Some choose to “blow off steam,” party and then cram; others procrastinate; and if you are like me, chances are you have put your life on hold and have set yourself captive in the library, running away from your room which by now has become so filled with papers and other domestic and scholastic debris that you can’t stand living in it. 

This is the season when my excuse for not exercising, not blogging, and not doing other school-related activities is all justified on the basis that I have too much work to do.   Good excuse.  I figure that if, for two weeks, I devote all my energy to my studies I’ll be better off in the long run.  It’s only two weeks of not catching a repose, not watching the news, not taking a run around the track and such.  Plus I’ll have plenty of time for doing these things in the future.  But I’ll only have these two weeks to prove myself to my future employers; so that when they see my résumé they will see that I am a serious candidate.

But as much as I want to believe in this good-work-ethic-leads-to-good-results mentality, a part of me just want to go for a long walk and for the moment, forget about all the business and take in the beauty of the world.  To acknowledge that the life I’m living now is just a small fragment of the larger scope of things.  That it’s a terrific thing to strive for excellence, but it’s not a bad idea to pause for a moment and just embrace the world for all of its beauty and intricacies.

1 Comment

Filed under College Life

One response to “A Time to Work and a Time to Pause: Lessons Learned from Finals Week

  1. ” To acknowledge that the life I’m living now is just a small fragment of the larger scope of things.”

    I appreciate your outlook on life. It reminds me of my own. Or at least, the one I try to stay in touch with, like you said, throughout stressful, busy times.

Leave a Reply

