Church on Easter Vs. Chicago, Part 2

In my previous post, I talked about how I spent the days leading up to Easter Sunday and expressed my ambivalent feelings about not recognizing it for the holy day that it is–particularly since I watched Chicago on that day–a movie about promiscuity, murder, and fame.

As I have thought over it, I have decided that certain days are important because they are meant to be set apart for a certain purpose.  Easter is one of the holidays that is meant to be set apart for religious reasons.  However, the day in the life of any religious person is supposed to be religious.  In this case, how can any such religious person distinguish any ordinary day from a day that is as significant as Easter?

We set up traditions.  In my house anyone under the age of twenty gets new clothes and an Easter basket.  Also, usually, Easter entails something special for dinner; Ham is usually that something special.  And my mom brings out the fancy plates and silverware.  In earlier times, we invited friends and extended family. 

In all the churches I’ve gone to, communion is always served on Easter.  In my former church, every Easter the kids have an Easter egg hunt the day before Sunday’s service.  The church spends the week inviting people to service , and the sermon 99.9% of the time involves the Resurrection. 

The traditions we have, therefore, are meant to help us remember why we believe what we believe.  But aren’t we suppose to remember that regardless of whether it’s Easter or not?  Yes.  But we are also human.  Sometimes we allow our lives to get the most of us, and we need something to bring us back to the place where we can once again remember for whom and for what purpose we are living for.

I don’t think watching Chicago on Easter Sunday is bad or even sinful.  I think forgetting what is most important in this life is, and we need to recognize days like Easter to bring us back to what matters.  

I need to recognize days like Easter to bring me back to what matters.

2 Comments

Filed under Culture, Religion

2 responses to “Church on Easter Vs. Chicago, Part 2

  1. Some things lie deeper than just tradition. There is always a reason for why we do the things we do. Sometimes the TRUE meanings get lost in the title of “tradition”…. Refer to this article for example:

    http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/belief/2010/apr/03/easter-pagan-symbolism

    • For starters, thank you for contributing to this conversation. What you have to say is very insightful and the link you proovide is very educational and informative.

      I do not deny that Easter is a holiday that has pagan roots. I guess Resurrection Sunday will be a more appropriate term for the holiday.

      I agree with every thing you say about tradition. There are reasons for why we do what we do, the true meaning of things do get lost in the sometimes repetative nature of tradition, and some things do indeed lie deeper than just tradition.

      However, I believe tradition is important because it acts as a marker in which we determine certain things or events are set apart. I am not saying that looking for eggs teaches children the “religious” meaning of Easter–or should I say, Resurrection Sunday. I am saying that having these traditions serves as a means to help us remember that that day is important. That there is something different about that particular Sunday. That there is a reason for the church being packed on that particular day and for that particular sermon. These things could help us remember “the deeper meaning” behind the tradition as you suggest.

Leave a Reply

