Week Four As An Intern: Memorial Day Rest, Grey’s Anatomy Speculation, Phone Calls, Feature

On Monday, Memorial Day, I got my first weekday break from the newsroom.  It was much-needed since I had put enough time into calling every town in two of the local counties asking for information on their Memorial Day Celebrations so that I could compile a list of towns and their celebration–along with the other intern–for the news paper.  It was time-consuming, but we got it done a week before memorial day.

Except for the fact that my friends and I discovered a new park in the county we live in, my entire Memorial Day weekend was spent watching reruns of Grey’s Anatomy, and I got up to episode 126–the end of Season 6.  Just enough to get caught up on the drama of Season Seven.  Later on into the week, I would learn that there are rumors that two of the main actors of the show are threatening to leave if the show doesn’t get better and that Season 8 may be the last season of the show.  But that may all just be cyber gossip.  I have no time to think about that now.

When I returned to work that week, I got an assignment.  I had to call people who participated in a poll about partisanship in New Jersey and ask them what they think about the democratic and republican parties.  Most people either were not home or did not want to allow their political opinions to be published in the newspaper, or were just plain rude and yelled at me for calling them.  Most of the people who did answer said that they were skeptical of both parties, or that the two parties have to work out their differences and start working together.  I only got one angry response from a man who thought all illegal immigrants were from Mexico and that they should go back there.  He also said that the democrats were communists and President Obama is giving too much money to illegal immigrants.

I was also given another job that week.  I had to call the sheriff offices of two counties to ask if there was a shortage of ammunition in these counties because of the reports that many places across the country were facing a shortage of ammunition because of the conflicts in the Middle East.  It turned out the none of our local police departments were facing ammunition shortages.

I also got another assignment that week.  A feature!  A real feature!  No press release, just a story that I can only write by interviewing people.  The story is about a Tae-Kwon Do school for special needs children.

I was excited about this story.  The only thing that hindered my joy was that I could not go to the place and interview the people in person because as an intern I am not allowed should something happen to me.   How can I write a feature if I am not there to see what’s going on–if I’m not there to record the sights, smells, and other observations of the place, atmosphere and mood?

P.S. “The Editor” has not lectured us for about two weeks; it’s scary.  The other intern has gone to South America for a class trip; she’ll be back on my last day.  I have no one to talk to on my lunch break now.  Another intern has arrived and I do not know his name.  I have not introduced myself.  I’ll call him Intern # 3.

2 Comments

Filed under College Life, Uncategorized, Writing, Writing Life

2 responses to “Week Four As An Intern: Memorial Day Rest, Grey’s Anatomy Speculation, Phone Calls, Feature

  1. northstar25

    More updates! Haha. Once again, your internship sounds interesting. I spent this last week doing letters and pulling staples out of boxes of records.

    • Yikes! Staples! I hope they gave you a machine to do that and you aren’t using your fingers.

      Were you putting letters into envelopes? When I go back to school that is basically one of the jobs I do at work.

Leave a Reply

